Print This Post Print This Post

9th July 2008

Interesting Times In China

posted in Uncategorized |

Since I own several domain names, I have received multiple emails from a company in China claiming to be “authorized anti-cyber squatting organization”. These people are apparently “checking” on various domain name applications being made in China to see whether the “alleged” applicants are legitimate.

Here’s the intro of the latest email… which I find particularly amusing (I’ll tell you why after if you can’t work it out beforehand…)

We received a formal application from a company who is called Saibo Investment Co.,Ltd is applying to register “comeonaussie” as their domain name in China as well as in Asia on July 3, 2008. During our auditing procedure we find out that the alleged Saibo Investment Co.,Ltd has no trade mark, brand nor patent even similar to that word. As an authorized anti-cyber squatting organization we hereby suspect the alleged Saibo Investment Co.,Ltd to be a domain grabber.

So did you work out the bit that amused me?

I own the domain comeonaussie.com It’s an Australian web site directory.

Can you imagine what comeonaussie.com.cn is going to do? I chuckle trying to do so!

Hmmm… err… YES! I do believe that the “alleged Saibo Investment Co.,Ltd” actually IS a domain grabber.

Oh well… they can have it! I really can’t imagine anyone wanting to buy that particular combination LOL

Tags: 

Popularity: 21% [?]

This entry was posted on Wednesday, July 9th, 2008 at 6:12 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

There are currently 2 responses to “Interesting Times In China”

Why not let us know what you think by adding your own comment! Your opinion is as valid as anyone elses, so come on... let us know what you think.

  1. 1 On July 27th, 2008, Mary Sygall said:

    I too have received this kind of email, but I just ignored it. I have three websites, all with AU extention and I didn’t think anyone would want them. Unfortunately they are not very busy, so I can’t see anyone wanting to grab them. I simply put down this email as a scam, not to be involved with.

  2. 2 On August 15th, 2008, Colin said:

    I to have received these emails. I was taken in by the first one - in a weak moment :), having researched that the company sending the email seem to be legitimate, and rang them. Interesting that they had an anglicised name. When I spoke to the person, although his english was good, I could tell it was not his first language. Anyway, to cut a long story short, after I hung up, I immediately registered the domain with my own hosting company. It was considerably cheaper than going through a foreign entity. Reason for registering, was I may consider in the future doing a website for that country. But now I know about these email scams, I am forewarned.

Leave a Reply

  • Feedburner Subscribe

  • Enter your email address to get new posts sent daily:

  • Advertising